Day 147: Be a Vegetarian

I found this so hard! Not because vegetarian food isn’t really tasty, it’s because I ate tofu.

UUUURGH!!

What is that stuff?! It’s bean curd that’s what it is. I mean, look at it..

Screen Shot 2014-07-06 at 20.10.10

Admittedly, it looks like porridge or scrambled eggs. However, these things redeems themselves by actually tasting pleasant.

The day started out as an attempt to be vegan but then I accidentally had eggs for breakfast. They were nice. It was this recipe and was meant to look like this –

Screen Shot 2014-07-06 at 20.57.33

but ended up looking like this for the next four weeks –

Screen Shot 2014-07-06 at 20.59.09

Not funny.

 

Anyway, then I had lunch. The Livity offices are in Brixton, a place known for it’s great places to eat. I decided some Malaysian would go down nicely. So I went for a Sambal Jawa from Bar Satay. Only instead of my beloved chicken, I had…… tofu!

This place does some of the best Sambal Jawa I’ve had outside of KL as yet, it’s not their fault they had to contaminated it with beany, greasy, sponge.

When you work in an office, no matter how fun that office is, food enhances your day. When you’re sat on your bum staring at a screen you could be in Google Campus or the council – you need food to carry you through. When that food fills you will anticipation and then dashes your hopes it ruins your day!

Dinner.

This is what tipped me over the edge. I had a meeting in North London and popped into Pret. I was excited – y’know that anticipation thing again – I knew the Pret do this lush hallumi and falafal wrap, I knew that was vegetarian, and I knew that’s what I needed to make my advegture finish with a high and there were absolutely none. I picked a cheesey, tomato, croissant. You know what those things need? Ham.

Screen Shot 2014-07-06 at 21.28.09

 

 

3 Comments

    1. Hi Manny, Thanks so much! I’ve just tried being a vegan recently so that’ll be coming up here soon. Quite a lot of foodie challenges recently! I’ll definitely check out your blog too. Chat soon 🙂

      1. Thank you so much! I look forward to future interactions with you. Feel free to follow me on any social media site and I’ll gladly follow you right back! 🙂

post your suggestions here